13 Dec 2019

Ardie Savea named rugby player of the year

6:26 am on 13 December 2019

All Blacks loose forward Ardie Savea has been named the New Zealand rugby player of the year, at the annual Rugby Awards.

Ardie Savea performing the haka before the All Blacks Test against Australia in Perth in 2019.

Ardie Savea Photo: Photosport

Savea was awarded the supreme award the Kelvin Tremain trophy at an awards dinner at the SkyCity Convention Centre in Auckland on Thursday evening.

He also picked up the All Blacks player of the year award and also Super Rugby player of the year.

Savea was not at the awards, however, having undergone knee surgery on Wednesday.

Black Ferns Sevens co-coaches Allan Bunting and Cory Sweeney were named New Zealand Coaches of the Year, and the Black Ferns Sevens were crowned New Zealand Team of the Year for a second consecutive year.

The New Zealand women's Sevens coach Allan Bunting.

Allan Bunting Photo: PHOTOSPORT

The Crusaders were again named national team of the year and their coach Scott Robertson who missed out on being named All Black coach yesterday was named national coach of the year.

It was their second time in a row after completing a Super Rugby three-peat with their 2019 title victory.

Charmaine McMenamin won the Black Ferns player of the year award while Tyla Nathan-Wong was named Black Ferns Sevens player of the year.

Black Ferns loose forward Charmaine McMenamin.

Black Ferns loose forward Charmaine McMenamin. Photo: © Copyright Andrew Cornaga / www.photosport.nz Photosport Ltd 2019

The night highlighted the end of an era for a number of staffers at New Zealand Rugby - including chief executive Steve Tew, All Blacks coach Steve Hansen and All Blacks captain Kieran Read.

Tew was awarded the Steinlager Salver for outstanding contribution to the sport.

Steve Tew talks about his retirement as NZ Rugby head.

Steve Tew Photo: RNZ / Dom Thomas

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs

We have regular online commentary of local and international sport.