22 Feb 2019

Halberg Awards: Shot putter Tom Walsh takes top award

7:44 am on 22 February 2019

Shot putter Tom Walsh has been named the supreme winner at the Halberg Awards in Auckland.

Walsh was recognised for his outstanding achievements in 2018 including victories at the World Indoor Championship, Commonwealth Games and Diamond League events.

He edged out freeskier Nico Porteous and motor racers Scott McLaughlin and Scott Dixon to claim the Sportsman of the Year category for the second year in a row.

Tom Walsh

Tom Walsh Photo: Photosport

Walsh was then named the supreme winner ahead of sportswoman of the year kayaker Lisa Carrington, skier Adam Hall who won the para athlete award and the Black Fern sevens who were named team of the year.

Carrington won the Sportswoman of the Year award for her third year running with the canoe racer claiming a gold and three silver medals at the Canoe Sprint World Champs and was named ahead of squash player Joelle King, horse rider Jonelle Price and snowboarder Zoi Sadowski-Synnott.

Lisa Carrington

Lisa Carrington Photo: Photosport

Hall beat swimmer Sophie Pascoe, canoe racer Scott Martlew and fellow alpine skier Corey Peters for the para-athlete award.

The Black Ferns women's sevens team which won the Sevens Rugby World Cup and gold at the Commonwealth Games collected the hotly contested award ahead of the NZ Football Under 17 Women Team, NZ Women's Kayaking Team, Vantage Black Sticks Women and All Blacks Sevens.

Gordon Walker - Lisa Carrington's coach - was named coach of the year for the third consecutive year seeing off Allan Bunting of the Black Ferns Sevens, Clark Laidlaw of the All Black Sevens, Leon Birnie coach of the Under 17 Women's football team and Ireland rugby coach Joe Schmidt.

Shot putter Maddison-Lee Wesche won the Emerging Talent following her gold medal success at the Under 20 IAAF World Championships.

Full list of winners and finalists for 56th Halberg Awards

Halberg Award winner: Tom Walsh (athletics)

Finalists: Lisa Carrington (canoe racing), Adam Hall (Para alpine skiing), Black Ferns Sevens (rugby union).

Sportswoman of the Year winner: Lisa Carrington (canoe racing)

Finalists: Joelle King (squash), Jonelle Price (equestrian), Zoi Sadowski-Synnott (snowboarding).

Sportsman of the Year winner: Tom Walsh (athletics)

Finalists: Nico Porteous (freeskiing), Scott Dixon (motorsport), Scott McLaughlin (motorsport).

Para Athlete/Team of the Year winner: Adam Hall (Para alpine skiing)

Finalists: Corey Peters (Para alpine skiing), Scott Martlew (Para canoe racing), Sophie Pascoe (Para swimming).

Team of the Year winner: Black Ferns Sevens (rugby union)

Finalists: All Blacks Sevens (rugby union), NZ Football Under 17 Women (football), NZ Women's Kayaking Team (canoe racing), Vantage Black Sticks Women (hockey).

Coach of the Year winner: Gordon Walker (canoe racing)

Finalists: Allan Bunting (rugby union), Clark Laidlaw (rugby union), Joe Schmidt (rugby union), Leon Birnie (football).

Emerging Talent winner: Maddison-Lee Wesche (athletics)

Finalists: Amelia Kerr (cricket), Anna Leat (football), Josh Armit (yachting), Lewis Clareburt (swimming).

Sport New Zealand Leadership Award winner: Dr Farah Palmer (rugby union).

Hall of Fame inductee: Beatrice Faumuinā (athletics).

Lifetime Achievement Award winner: Barry Hunt (athletics).

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs

We have regular online commentary of local and international sport.