2 Nov 2016

All Blacks nominated for Team of the Year

6:54 am on 2 November 2016

Their 2015 Rugby World Cup victory and record-equaling consecutive test match victories have earned the All Blacks a nomination for World Rugby Team of the Year.

Richie McCaw and Dan Carter with the Webb Ellis Cup after winning the Rugby World Cup Final, London, England. Saturday 31 October 2015.

Richie McCaw and Dan Carter after the All Blacks Rugby World Cup win. Photo: PHOTOSPORT

The Rio Olympic gold medallists Fiji sevens and Six Nation grand slam winners England are also on the shortlist for the title, which the All Blacks have won for the last six successive years.

All Blacks coach Steve Hansen has been nominated for Coach of the Year, but he'll have stiff competition from Ben Ryan, the man who led the Fijian Sevens team to their historic gold medal win at the Rio Olympics, and England coach Eddie Jones.

Last year Hansen was overlooked with Australian coach Michael Cheika winning.

New All Blacks Ardie Savea and Anton Lienert-Brown have been nominated for Breakthrough Player of the year, alongside England's Maro Itoje.

Last year New Zealand winger Nehe Milner-Skudder won the title.

New Zealand sevens player Portia Woodman has been nominated for the Women's Sevens Player of the Year after finishing the season as the top try scorer in the World Series.

She'll line up against Australian Olympic gold medallist Charlotte Caslick and England captain Emily Scarratt.

The winners will be announced on 13 November


Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs

We have regular online commentary of local and international sport.