14 May 2015

All Blacks back for Hurricanes

12:47 pm on 14 May 2015

The Hurricanes have named all their available All Blacks for Saturday night's Super Rugby game against the Chiefs in Wellington.

The Hurricanes' James Marshall kicks a penalty.

The Hurricanes' James Marshall kicks a penalty. Photo: PHOTOSPORT

After a rest last weekend, halfback TJ Perenara and wing Julian Savea return to the starting lineup, while Dane Coles has recovered from a calf injury to be named on the bench.

In the other change from the side that beat the Sharks, Brad Shields starts on the blindside while prop Reggie Goodes returns to the front row.

Fullback Nehe Milner-Skudder passed a concussion test after taking a knock to the head in the Sharks game and will start against the Chiefs.

Reserve prop Jeffery Toomaga-Allen will run on for his 50th Hurricanes match, should he take the field on Saturday evening, while Conrad Smith and Ma'a Nonu will play their 50th match as a midfield pair.

Toomaga-Allen made his debut for the Hurricanes against the Stormers in Cape Town in 2012, and has played in eight of the team's matches so far this season after returning from a knee injury suffered in 2014.

Conrad Smith scores for the Hurricanes against the Sharks 2015.

Conrad Smith scores for the Hurricanes against the Sharks 2015. Photo: PHOTOSPORT

Nonu and Smith first combined against the Force in New Plymouth on February 18, 2006. They were the 22nd midfield combination to take the field for the Hurricanes, and there have been a further 21 different combinations since. The next highest pairing for the Hurricanes was Alama Ieremia and Jason O'Halloran, who had 28 starts together.

This weekend's game will be the last regular season appearance at Westpac Stadium for Smith, Nonu, Ben Franks, Jeremy Thursh, Rey Lee-Lo and Chris Smylie.

The Hurricanes top the standings, while the Chiefs are second.

The Hurricanes team to face the Chiefs at Westpac Stadium, kick-off 7.30pm is;

1.Reggie Goodes

2.Motu Matu'u

3.Ben Franks

4.Jeremy Thrush

5.James Broadhurst

6.Brad Shields

7.Ardie Savea

8.Victor Vito

9.TJ Perenara

10.James Marshall

11.Julian Savea

12.Ma'a Nonu

13.Conrad Smith

14.Cory Jane

15.Nehe Milner-Skudder


16.Dane Coles

17.Chris Eves

18.Jeffery Toomaga-Allen

19.Mark Abbott/Callum Gibbins

20.Blade Thomson

21.Chris Smylie

22.Otere Black

23.Rey Lee-Lo

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs

We have regular online commentary of local and international sport.