7 Jan 2015

Ko, McCullum among Halberg finalists

11:02 am on 7 January 2015

Golfer Lydia Ko and cricketer Brendon McCullum are among the finalists for this year's Halberg Awards.

Lydia Ko, receiving last year's overall supreme Halberg Trophy.

Lydia Ko, receiving last year's overall supreme Halberg Trophy. Photo: Photosport

Ko heads an impressive group up for sportswoman of the year that includes shotputter Valerie Adams and canoer Lisa Carrington, while McCullum faces stiff competition from All Blacks captain Richie McCaw and basketball player Steven Adams in the men's category.

A terrific year for New Zealand sport has resulted in football club Auckland City, the Kiwis rugby league side, and men's rowing pair Hamish Bond and Eric Murray competing for team of the year.

All Blacks coach Steve Hansen will look to reclaim his title as coach of the year, but will have to see off the Kiwis' Stephen Kearney and cycling coach Anthony Peden to do so.

Nominations were submitted by national sporting organisations.

Of the 27 finalists, 18 are eligible for the supreme Halberg award, which went to Ko last year.

The awards will take place on February the 11th in Auckland.

The full list of finalists:

High Performance Sport New Zealand Sportswoman Of The Year

Emma Twigg (Rowing), Lisa Carrington (Canoeing), Lydia Ko (Golf), Valerie Adams (Athletics).

High Performance Sport New Zealand Sportsman of the Year

Brendon McCullum (Cricket), Brodie Retallick (Rugby), Richie McCaw (Rugby), Sam Webster (Cycling), Steven Adams (Basketball).

Halberg Disability Sport Foundation Disabled Sportsperson Of The Year

Corey Peters (Para-Skiing), Emma Foy and Laura Fairweather - pilot (Para-Cycling), Mary Fisher (Para-Swimming), Sophie Pascoe (Para-Swimming).

Halberg Disability Sport Foundation Team Of The Year

Auckland City FC (Football), Kiwis (Rugby League), Men's Pair - Hamish Bond, Eric Murray (Rowing), Men's Team Sprint - Ethan Mitchell, Eddie Dawkins and Sam Webster (Cycling), NZ Men's 49er Class Team - Peter Burling, Blair Tuke (Yachting).

Emerging Talent

Eliza McCartney (Athletics), Regan Gough (Cycling), Sam Gaze (Mountain Biking), Zoe McBride (Rowing).

Coach Of The Year

Anthony Peden (Cycling), Gary Hay (Rowing), Gordon Walker (Canoeing), Stephen Kearney (Rugby League), Steve Hansen (Rugby).

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs

We have regular online commentary of local and international sport.