12 Dec 2014

Nominations announced for Halberg Awards

12:46 pm on 12 December 2014

80 nominations from 26 sports have been received for the 2014 Halberg Sports Awards.

The Sportsman of the Year category received the most nominations with 19 athletes from 13 sports put forward.

The nominations list includes Brendon McCullum, Mahe Drysdale, Richie McCaw, Shaun Johnson, Steven Adams and seven cyclists.

Brendon McCullum celebrating his triple century against India.

Brendon McCullum celebrating his triple century against India. Photo: PHOTOSPORT

The Team of the Year and Coach of the Year award categories have received 16 nominations apiece.

Teams put through for judging include the All Blacks, Black Caps, Kiwis, six rowing crews, two yachting crews and two cycling teams.

2013 winner Steve Hansen is again up for the coach category along with a list which features Mike Hesson, Stephen Kearney and five time winner Dick Tonks.

The High Performance Sport New Zealand Sportswoman of the Year will again be hotly contested by 2013 Halberg Supreme Award winner Lydia Ko and fellow finalists Lauren Boyle, Lisa Carrington, and Valerie Adams.

Ten athletes have been nominated for the Disabled Sportsperson of the Year including three time winner Sophie Pascoe and other Para-Swimmers Mary Fisher, Nikita Howarth, and Rebecca Dubber.

Award winners will be announced at the 52nd Halberg Awards in Auckland in February.

The full list of Halberg Awards nominations:

High Performance Sport New Zealand Sportsman of the Year:

Anton Cooper (Mountain Biking), Brendon McCullum (Cricket), Brodie Retallick (Rugby), David Nyika (Boxing), Jack Bauer (Cycling), James McDonald (Thoroughbred Racing), Jason Wynyard (Wood Chopping), John Holdzkom (Baseball), Mahe Drysdale (Rowing), Marc Ryan (Cycling), Richie McCaw (Rugby), Sam Webster (Cycling), Shane Archbold (Cycling), Shaun Johnson (Rugby League), Simon Van Velthooven (Cycling), Steven Adams (Basketball), Steven Kent (Surf Lifesaving), Tom Scully (Cycling), Tomas Walsh (Athletics)

High Performance Sport New Zealand Sportswoman Of The Year:

Emma Twigg (Rowing), Jo Edwards (Bowls), Lauren Boyle (Swimming), Linda Villumsen (Cycling), Lisa Carrington (Canoeing), Lydia Ko (Golf), Melissa Timperley (Taekwon-Do), Sally Johnston (Shooting), Samantha Lee (Surf Lifesaving), Suzie Bates (Cricket), Teneale Hatton (Canoeing), Valerie Adams (Athletics)

Halberg Disability Sport Foundation Disabled Sportsperson Of The Year:

Corey Peters (Para-Skiing), Emma Foy and Laura Fairweather - pilot (Para-Cycling), Mary Fisher (Para-Swimming), Michael Johnson (Para-Shooting), Nikita Howarth (Para-Swimming), Open Triples Disabled Bowls Team (Bowls), Phillipa Gray and Kylie Young - pilot (Para-Cycling), Rebecca Dubber (Para-Swimming), Sophie Pascoe (Para-Swimming), Tim Williams (Para-Cycling)

Halberg Disability Sport Foundation Team Of The Year:

All Blacks (Rugby), Black Caps (Cricket), Kiwis (Rugby League), Macrobertson Shield Team (Croquet), Men's Lightweight Four (Rowing), Men's Pair - Hamish Bond, Eric Murray (Rowing), Men's Team Pursuit (Cycling), Men's Team Sprint (Cycling), NZ Women's 470 Team - Jo Aleh, Polly Powrie (Yachting), NZ Men's 49er Class Team - Peter Burling, Blair Tuke (Yachting), Surf Life Saving New Zealand Team (Surf Lifesaving), Team Seagate (Adventure Racing), Women's Double Scull - Zoe Stevenson, Fiona Bourke (Rowing), Women's Four (Rowing), Women's Lightweight Double - Julia Edward, Sophie Mackenzie (Rowing), Women's Pair - Rebecca Scown, Louise Trappitt (Rowing)

Emerging Talent:

Andrew Trembath (Surf Life-Saving), Corey Main (Swimming), Eliza Mccartney (Athletics), Jesse Reynolds (Para Swimming), Regan Gough (Cycling), Sam Gaze (Mountain Biking), Zoe McBride (Rowing)

Coach Of The Year:

Anthony Peden (Cycling), Bruce Wells (Free Skiing), Chris Knight (Alpine Skiing), Dave Thompson (Rowing), Dayle Cheatley (Cycling), Gary Hay (Rowing), Gordon Walker (Canoeing), Hamish Willcox (Yachting), Jonathan Hailstone (Para-Cycling), Marion Horwell (Rowing), Mike Hesson (Cricket), Richard 'Dick' Tonks (Rowing), Roly Crichton (Para Swimming), Scott Bartlett (Surf Lifesaving), Stephen Kearney (Rugby League), Steve Hansen (Rugby)