12 Dec 2014

Retallick wins top award

4:56 am on 12 December 2014

All Black Brodie Retallick has backed up his World Rugby International Player of the Year award by being named the Kelvin R Tremain Player of the Year at the New Zealand Rugby Awards.

The 23-year-old's outstanding form means the 35-Test lock joins team mates Richie McCaw, Kieran Read and Jerome Kaino who have won the top honour in recent years.

Richie McCaw, Brodie Retallick and Steve Hansen at the 2014 rugby awards.

Richie McCaw, Brodie Retallick and Steve Hansen at the 2014 rugby awards. Photo: PHOTOSPORT

The All Blacks who retained their number one world ranking for the fifth consecutive year, took out the Team of the Year for the fourth successive year while Steve Hansen earned his third successive Coach of the Year award.

Under Hansen's guidance the All Blacks equalled the record of 17 consecutive victories by a major nation, secured a clean sweep in the June Series against England, retained the Bledisloe Cup for a 12th year in a row, won a third successive Rugby Championship title and returned home undefeated from the recent Northern Tour with wins over USA, England, Scotland and Wales.

All Blacks lock Brodie Retallick

All Blacks lock Brodie Retallick Photo: PHOTOSPORT

Their success was also recognised by their international peers last month when they were named World Rugby (formerly IRB) Team of the Year and Hansen; Coach of the Year.

The Rugby Awards also honoured one of those champions of the community game, a man who also made his mark on the upper levels of rugby. Leading administrator and former All Blacks Manager Dick Littlejohn played a key role in delivering the first Rugby World Cup - in New Zealand in 1987 - a successful event which laid the foundation for future World Cup tournaments.

Richie McCaw and partner Gemma Flynn at the 2014 rugby awards.

Richie McCaw and partner Gemma Flynn at the 2014 rugby awards. Photo: PHOTOSPORT

Blues and All Blacks loose forward Jerome Kaino was named Super Rugby Player of the Year.

In sevens, Sarah Goss was awarded the Women's Sevens Player of the Year honour and DJ Forbes the men's award.

Black Ferns and Auckland loose forward Rawinia Everitt was again named Women's Rugby Player of the Year.

One of the star players of Taranaki's triumphant ITM Cup team, Fijian-born and power centre Seta Tamanivalu, was named ITM Cup Player of the Year.

Rising Waikato back Damian McKenzie was named Age Grade Player of the Year .

Glen Jackson won his second Referee of the Year Award.

Aaron Smith (Ngati Kahungunu) was named the Tom French Memorial Maori Player of the Year.

Buller first five eighth James Lash was named the Heartland Championship Player of the Year.

Malakai Fekitoa's stunning solo try on the counter attack for the Highlanders - form that saw the Tongan-born midfielder force elevated to the All Blacks in 2014 - against the Sharks, was the most popular try picked by fans.

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs

We have regular online commentary of local and international sport.