24 Nov 2023

Cabinet lineup for new government unveiled - who gets what?

11:37 am on 24 November 2023
ACT party politicians arrive to the government signing ceremony.

Photo: RNZ / Samuel Rillstone

Winston Peters will be deputy prime minister for the first half of the parliamentary term, with David Seymour taking over for the remainder, as the new government reveals its ministerial lineup.

Peters will be Foreign Minister, with Seymour taking on the new role of Minister of Regulation.

The Cabinet of the usual 20 ministers will have 14 from National, and three each from ACT and NZ First. National will have five Ministers outside Cabinet, with two from ACT and one from New Zealand First.

ACT and New Zealand First will each have one Parliamentary Under-Secretary.

National Cabinet Ministers

  • Christopher Luxon: Prime Minister, Minister for National Security and Intelligence, Minister Responsible for Ministerial Services
  • Nicola Willis: Finance Minister, Public Service Minister, Minister for Social Investment, Associate Minister of Climate Change
  • Chris Bishop: Housing Minister, Infrastructure Minister, Minister for RMA Reform, Minister for Sport and Recreation, Leader of the House, Associate Finance Minister
  • Shane Reti: Health Minister, Pacific Peoples Minister
  • Simeon Brown: Minister for Energy, Local Government, Transport, Auckland, Deputy leader of the House
  • Erica Stanford: Minister of Education, Immigration
  • Paul Goldsmith: Minister of Arts, Culture and Heritage, Justice, State-owned Enterprises, Treaty of Waitangi Negotiations
  • Louise Upston: Minister for Community and Voluntary Sector, Social Development and Employment, Child Poverty Reduction
  • Judith Collins: Attorney-General, Minister of Defence, Digitising Government, the GCSB and NZSIS, Science, Innovation and Technology, Space, and lead coordination Minister for the Government's response to the Royal Commission's Report into the Terrorist Attack on the Christchurch Mosques
  • Mark Mitchell: Minister of Correction, Emergency Management and Recovery, Police
  • Todd McClay: Minister of Agriculture, Forestry, Hunting and Fishing, Trade and Associate Minister of Foreign Affairs
  • Tama Potaka: Minister of Conservation, Māori-Crown relations, Māori Development, Whānau Ora, Associate Minister of Housing
  • Matt Doocey: Minister for ACC, Mental Health, Tourism and Hospitality, Youth, Associate Minister of health and Transport
  • Melissa Lee: Minister for Economic Development, Ethnic Communities, Media and Communications, Associate ACC Minister

ACT Party Cabinet Ministers

  • David Seymour: Deputy Prime Minister from 31 May 2025, Minister for Regulation, Associate Minister of Education (partnership schools), Finance and Health (Pharmac)
  • Brooke van Velden: Minister of Internal Affairs, Workplace Relations and Safety
  • Nicole McKee: Minister for Courts, Associate Minister of Justice (Firearms)

NZ First Cabinet Ministers

  • Winston Peters: Deputy Prime Minister (until 31 May 2025), Minister of Foreign Affairs, Minister for Racing
  • Shane Jones: Minister for Oceans and Fisheries, regional Development, Resources, Associate Minister of Finance, Energy
  • Casey Costello: Minister of Customs, Seniors, Associate Minister of Health, Immigration, and Police

Outside Cabinet:


  • Simon Watts: Minister of Climate Change, Revenue
  • Penny Simmonds: Minister for Disability issues, the Environment, Tertiary Education and Skills, Associate Minister for Social Development and Employment
  • Chris Penk: Minister for Building and Construction, Land Information, Veterans, Associate Minister of Defence, Associate Minister of Immigration
  • Nicola Grigg: Minister of State for trade, Minister for Women, Associate Minister of Agriculture (horticulture)
  • Andrew Bayly: Minister of Commerce and Consumer Affairs, Small Business and Manufacturing, Statistics


  • Andrew Hoggard: Minister for Biosecurity, Food Safety, Associate Minister of Agriculture (Animal Welfare, Skills), Associate Environment
  • Karen Chhour: Minister for Children, Minister for the prevention of Family and Sexual Violence
  • Simon Court: Parliamentary Under-Secretary for the Minister for Infrastructure, and RMA Reform

NZ First:

  • Mark Patterson: Minister for Rural Communities, Associate Minister of Agriculture
  • Jenny Marcroft: Parliamentary Under-Secretary to the Minister for Media and Communications

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs