30 Jul 2017

National reveals party list

11:57 pm on 30 July 2017

The National Party's list for the September election is dominated by sitting MPs.

Bill English speaking at the National Party Conference in Wellington.

Bill English speaking at the National Party Conference in Wellington last month. Photo: RNZ / Demelza Leslie

The highest ranked person not currently in Parliament is at number 48.

National's list is headed by the Prime Minister, Bill English, the Deputy Prime Minister, Paula Bennett, and Parliament's Speaker, David Carter.

They're followed by current Cabinet Ministers, then all the sitting MPs who are standing again at the election.

The highest ranked person who is not a current MP is National's Wellington Central candidate Nicola Willis, ranked 48th.

She's a business executive and former staffer for John Key.

The party's President, Peter Goodfellow, said it was National's most diverse list ever, with a range of ethnicities.

He said it was a strong team.

"It's a balance between the existing experience that National MPs bring, quite a bit of diversity and yet some renewal."

Mr Goodfellow said it included people from all walks of life, including business people, teachers, farmers, community advocates, scientists, and a pilot.

National's 2017 List

1 Bill English List

2 Paula Bennett Upper Harbour

3 David Carter List

4 Steven Joyce List

5 Gerry Brownlee Ilam

6 Simon Bridges Tauranga

7 Amy Adams Selwyn

8 Jonathan Coleman Northcote

9 Chris Finlayson Rongotai

10 Michael Woodhouse Dunedin North

11 Anne Tolley East Coast

12 Nathan Guy Otaki

13 Nikki Kaye Auckland Central

14 Todd McClay Rotorua

15 Nick Smith Nelson

16 Judith Collins Papakura

17 Maggie Barry North Shore

18 Paul Goldsmith Epsom

19 Louise Upston Taupo

20 Alfred Ngaro Te Atatu

21 Mark Mitchell Rodney

22 Nicky Wagner Christchurch Central

23 Jacqui Dean Waitaki

24 David Bennett Hamilton East

25 Tim Macindoe Hamilton West

26 Scott Simpson Coromandel

27 Jami-Lee Ross Botany

28 Barbara Kuriger Taranaki-King Country

29 Matt Doocey Waimakariri

30 Brett Hudson Ohariu

31 Melissa Lee Mt Albert

32 Kanwaljit Singh Bakshi Manukau East

33 Jian Yang List

34 Parmjeet Parmar Mt Roskill

35 Jonathan Young New Plymouth

36 Joanne Hayes Christchurch East

37 Ian McKelvie Rangitikei

38 Simon O'Connor Tamaki

39 Andrew Bayly Hunua

40 Chris Bishop Hutt South

41 Sarah Dowie Invercargill

42 Nuk Korako Port Hills

43 Todd Muller Bay of Plenty

44 Maureen Pugh West Coast Tasman

45 Shane Reti Whangarei

46 Alastair Scott Wairarapa

47 Stuart Smith Kaikoura

48 Nicola Willis Wellington Central

49 Agnes Loheni Mangere

50 Paulo Garcia New Lynn

51 Matt King Northland

52 David Hiatt Wigram

53 Matthew Gregory Dunedin South

54 Adrienne Pierce Palmerston North

55 David Elliot Napier

56 Katrina Bungard Manurewa

57 Bala Berram Kelston

58 Carolyn O'Fallon Rimutaka

59 Euon Murrell Mana

60 Simeon Brown Pakuranga

61 Andrew Falloon Rangitata

62 Harete Hipango Whanganui

63 Denise Lee Maungakiekie

64 Chris Penk Helensville

65 Erica Stanford East Coast Bays

66 Tim Van de Molen Waikato

67 Lawrence Yule Tukituki

68 TO BE CONFIRMED Clutha-Southland

69 Sarah Jo Barley List

70 Lisa Whyte List

71 Linda Cooper List

72 Dan Bidois List

73 Rahul Sirigiri List

74 Hadleigh Reid List

75 Graham Collins List

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs