22 Apr 2022

Independent commissioners' term to run Tauranga council extended

12:38 pm on 22 April 2022

The independent commissioners appointed to oversee Tauranga City Council will remain in their roles until a planned election in two years time.

Local Government Minister Nanaia Mahuta says Three Waters will save ratepayers thousands of dollars a year and ensure the estimated $120 to $185 billion in investment needed in the country’s water services over the next 30 years goes ahead.

Commissioners are providing stability for Tauranga, Nanaia Mahuta says. Photo: ROBERT KITCHIN/STUFF

Local Government Minister Nanaia Mahuta said their reappointment will provide continuity and stability.

She appointed the current commission in February 2021 after sacking the elected council for "significant governance problems".

Anne Tolley

Anne Tolley Photo: supplied

The former Education minister Anne Tolley will continue as the chair of the commissioners, assisted by Bill Wasley, Stephen Selwood and Shadrach Rolleston.

"As the council continues to face substantial infrastructure and funding challenges, it is clear that ensuring certainty for Tauranga is more important than ever," Mahuta said in a statement.

She is expecting them to deliver on the 2024-2034 long-term plan and investment opportunities for the region.

"They have demonstrated the ability to understand the needs of the community and what is required to deliver substantial and necessary change to a rapidly growing city," Mahuta said.

The Tauranga Commission was appointed following an independent review in November 2020 which identified significant governance problems with the council.

The commissioners will stay in charge until July 2024 when an election is expected to be held.

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs