NZ cyclists win first Games medals

4:42 am on 6 October 2010

Cyclists Jesse Sergent and Edward Dawkins have won the first medals for New Zealand at the Commonwealth Games in Delhi.

Sergent won the silver medal in the 4000m men's individual pursuit, while Dawkins took the bronze in the 1km men's time trial at the Indira Gandhi Sports Complex on Tuesday night.

Sergent finished the gold-medal race in a time of 4 minutes and 17.893 seconds, missing out on the Commonwealth title by less than half a second. The Feilding rider also won a silver medal at the world championships in Copenhagen earlier this year.

Australia's Jack Bobridge won the gold in a time of 4 minutes 17.495 seconds, while teammate Michael Hepburn took bronze, beating Rotorua's Sam Bewley.

In the men's 1km time trial, Australia's Scott Sunderland took gold, setting a new Commonwealth Games record of 1 minute 1.411 seconds.

Malaysia's Mohd Rizal Tisin won the silver medal, while Dawkins, of Invercargill, had to settle for bronze, with a time of 1 minute 2.777 seconds.

Aucklander Myron Simpson finished in fourth, while Marc Ryan from Timaru was seventh in that event.

Meanwhile, Dunedin rider Alison Shanks missed out on a medal in the 500m time trial on Tuesday, finishing sixth with a time of 36.565 seconds.

Australia's Anna Meares won the gold medal to set a new Commonwealth Games record with 33.758 seconds.