16 Mar 2016

Accept apology, privileges committee says

5:25 pm on 16 March 2016

An apology offered by the Leader of the Opposition last year about comments he and two of his MPs made about the Speaker of the House should be accepted, Parliament's privileges committee says.

Comments made by Andrew Little, Chris Hipkins and Ruth Dyson were referred to the committee last year.

Two complaints related to remarks made by Mr Little and Mr Hipkins after a ruling from Speaker David Carter over a member's bill.

Ms Dyson criticised the Speaker's handling of the fierce debate in Parliament after Prime Minister John Key accused opposition MPs of "backing the rapists".

Late last year Mr Little expressed regret for the comments.

The committee said that should be accepted and recommended no further action.