16 Nov 2019

NZ Music Awards 2019: the winners

From RNZ Music, 12:00 pm on 16 November 2019

Hip hop musician Tom Scott and his collaborative project Avantdale Bowling Club have won the coveted Album of the Year at the Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards, which took place at Auckland’s Spark Arena on Thursday. Music 101's Charlotte Ryan was there.

Avantdale Bowling Club also won Best Hip Hop Artist for their debut self-titled album Avantdale Bowling Club, which went to #1 in the charts, and is a fusion of jazz and hip hop conceptualised by Scott and a group of talented players who brought each song to life.

Skip to full list of winners.

Scott performed his track ‘Home’ at the ceremony, accompanied by a choir of students from Avondale Intermediate School, which he attended as a child.

Ninteen-year-old pop sensation Benee made her mark on NZ music history, taking home an impressive four awards.

The Auckland teen was awarded Best Solo Artist, Single of the Year – for her platinum debut single ‘Soaked’ - Best Pop Artist, and Breakthrough Artist of the Year.

Indie pop four-piece The Beths won Best Group and Best Alternative Artist following the success of their 2018 debut Future Me Hates Me. The Auckland band has been taking the world by storm, with sell-out shows across New Zealand, Europe and the UK.

For the second year in a row, veterans Six60 picked up Highest Selling Artist, Radio Airplay Record of the Year, and People’s Choice.

Northland psych/reggae/blues musician Troy Kingi took out Best Māori Artist for the second year running, alongside his band the Upper Class. They also won Best Roots Artist for their album Holy Colony Burning Acres, which is the third installment in Kingi’s ambitious plan to release 10 albums in 10 years, in 10 different genres.

Kiwi rock legends Th’ Dudes, whose original members include Dave Dobbyn, Peter Urlich and the late Ian Morris, received the Legacy Award and were inducted into the NZ Music Hall of Fame.

The group reformed to play their own tribute performance, a medley of their classic Kiwi songs including ‘Bliss’, ‘Be Mine Tonight’ and ‘Walking in Light’.

They were joined by Ian’s brother Rikki Morris, as well as Ian’s daughters Julia and Maude of LEXXA.

Big winners at last year awards, Wellington’s Drax Project received the International Achievement award, for the success of their single ‘Woke Up Late’, which went double platinum in Australia and has been streamed more than 70 million times on Spotify.

Drum n bass musician Tali won Best Electronic Artist, and Taranaki RnB queen Bailey Wiley took home Best Soul/RnB Artist.

The 2019 Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards were hosted by Laura Daniel and Jon Toogood, with performances from Avantdale Bowling Club, The Beths, BENEE, Mitch James, Troy Kingi and Villainy, as well as a moving performance from Teeks & Hollie Smith and rocking finale from Th’ Dudes.

Full list of winners:

1. THREE Album of the Year | Te Pukaemi o te Tau​

  • Winner: Avantdale Bowling Club – Avantdale Bowling Club
  • Aldous Harding – Designer
  • The Beths – Future Me Hates Me
  • Broods – Don’t Feed The Pop Monster
  • Mitch James – Mitch James
  • Marlon Williams – Live at Auckland Town Hall

2. Vodafone Single of the Year | Te Waiata Tōtahi o te Tau​

  • Winner: BENEE – ‘Soaked’
  • Aldous Harding – ‘The Barrell’
  • The Beths – ‘Little Death’
  • Church & AP – ‘Ready or Not’
  • Drax Project – ‘All This Time’
  • Six60 – ‘The Greatest’

3. Best Group | Te Roopu Toa​

  • Winner: The Beths – Future Me Hates Me Beastwars - IV
  • Broods – Don’t Feed The Pop Monster
  • L.A.B. – L.A.B. II

4. Best Solo Artist | Te Kaipuoro Takitahi Toa​

  • Aldous Harding - Designer
  • Avantdale Bowling Club – Avantdale Bowling Club
  • Mitch James – Mitch James

5. Smirnoff Pure Potential Breakthrough Artist of the Year | Te Kaituhura Puoro Toa o te Tau​

  • Winner: BENEE
  • The Beths
  • Church & AP

6. Te Māngai Pāho Best Māori Artist | Te Kaipuoro Māori Toa

  • Winner: Troy Kingi
  • Louis Baker
  • Rei

7. The Edge Best Pop Artist | Te Kaipuoro Arotini Toa​

  • Winner: BENEE
  • Broods
  • Mitch James

8. Best Alternative Artist | Te Kaipuoro Manohi Toa​

  • Winner: The Beths
  • Aldous Harding
  • Tiny Ruins

9. KFC Best Soul/RnB Artist | Te Kaipuoro Awe Toa

  • Winner: Bailey Wiley
  • Louis Baker
  • Rei

10. Best Hip Hop Artist | Te Kaipuoro Hipihope Toa​

  • Winner: Avantdale Bowling Club
  • Church & AP
  • Diggy Dupè

11. Best Roots Artist | Te Kaipuoro Taketake Toa

  • Winner: Troy Kingi
  • L.A.B
  • Lost Tribe Aotearoa

12. rova Best Electronic Artist | Te Kaipuoro Tāhiko Toa

  • Winner: TALI
  • Pacific Heights
  • Sweet Mix Kids

13. Best Rock Artist | Te Kaipuoro Rakapioi Toa

  • Winner: Villainy
  • Beastwars
  • Racing

14. Best Worship Artist | Te Kaipuoro Kairangi Toa

  • Winner: Harbourside Worship
  • Equippers Worship
  • Jules Riding

15. Best Classical Artist | Te Kaipuoro Inamata Toa

  • Winner: Simon O’Neill
  • The Linkwood Guitar Duo
  • Michael Houstoun & Bella Hristova

16. Vodafone People’s Choice Award | Te Kōwhiri o te Nuinga

  • Six60

17. Recorded Music NZ Legacy Award | Tohu Whakareretanga

  • Th’ Dudes

18. Vodafone Highest Selling Artist I Te Toa Hoko Teitei

  • Six60

19. NZ On Air Radio Airplay Record of the Year | Te Rikoata Marakerake o te Tau

  • Six60

20. Recorded Music NZ International Achievement | Tohu Tutuki o te Ao

  • Drax Project
  • NZ Music Awards 2019: live coverage
  • Iconic Kiwi rock act Th’ Dudes enter the NZ Music Hall of Fame
  • Th’ Dudes announce Th’ Bliss tour
  • NZ Music Awards 2019: behind-the-scenes talent recognised at Artisan Awards
  • Get the RNZ app

    for easy access to all your favourite programmes