14 Nov 2019

Iconic Kiwi rock act Th’ Dudes enter the NZ Music Hall of Fame

From RNZ Music, 10:00 am on 14 November 2019

Th’ Dudes, whose founding members include Dave Dobbyn, Peter Urlich and the late Ian Morris, are famous for hits including ‘Bliss’ and ‘Be Mine Tonight’. They're being inducted into the New Zealand Music Hall of Fame at tonight's Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards.

The surviving members are celebrating the band's induction with a performance at tonight's ceremony.

Started by Ian Morris, Peter Urlich (vocals), Dave Dobbyn (guitar, vocals) and Peter Coleman (bass) at Sacred Heart College in 1975, Th' Dudes rocketed into music stardom in the late 1970s.

Kiwi rock legends Th' Dudes reunite for nationwide tour​

They started out playing covers at surf clubs and private parties, but once new members Bruce Hambling (drums) and Lez White (bass) joined, it wasn't long before they began creating songs of their own.

Forty years on, Th' Dudes' legacy remains. Despite only releasing two albums, the band set a standard in original songwriting, in stage performance, and album production.

Peter was the perfect frontman: confident, good-looking, and a natural showman in any era. Bruce and Lez were one of New Zealand's most idiosyncratic rhythm sections: Bruce's solidity balanced Lez' flamboyance.

Guitarists and songwriters Dave and the late Ian effortlessly created catchy hooks and bouncy guitar riffs that resonated with music fans of the era.

No caption

Photo: Bruce Jarvis

Th' Dudes released their debut album Right First Time in 1979. Their second album Where Are The Boys? was released in 1980, shortly before the group disbanded.

When TV show Radio With Pictures and Rip It Up magazine announced Th' Dudes' demise, both outlets expressed regret that the band's short-lived career would mean they wouldn't get the credit they deserved.

Since then, the group has undertaken select tour dates over the years, last reforming in 2006. Their songs have lasted decades and are still included among the classics of Aotearoa.

Th' Dudes and their legacy will be celebrated along with this year's winners at the Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards on November 14. The ceremony will be broadcast live on Three from 8.30pm.

  • Six60 wins big as Marlon Williams takes top gong at NZ Music Awards
  • NZ Music Awards 2018 winners
  • The Mixtape: DLT and MC B-Ware of Upper Hutt Posse

    Get the RNZ app

    for easy access to all your favourite programmes