18 Jun 2020

Five Bougainville MPs referred to public prosecutor

8:37 am on 18 June 2020

Five members of the Autonomous Bougainville Government have been referred to Papua New Guinea's Public Prosecutor for alleged misconduct in office.

PNG's Ombudsman Commission made the referrals after conducting investigations into the Bougainville regional MPs.

The five MPs are Robin Wilson, Steven Suako, Thomas Keriri, Philip Kuhena and Simon Dasiona.

The Speaker of the Bougainville House of Representatives, Simon Pentanu, has also been referred for alleged misconduct in office.

The referrals are now in the hands of the Public Prosecutor who has the discretion to decide whether to start proceedings under the Leadership Code.

No caption

Photo: The Bougainvillean

  • Bougainville allowing for three week election because of Covid-19
  • Bougainville MPs legislate for Women's Federation
  • Bougainville's Momis bows out with 'sense of fulfilment'