1 Jul 2019

Pacific nations criticised for HIV travel restrictions

11:29 am on 1 July 2019

A number of Pacific countries have been criticised by the United Nations for maintaining travel restrictions for people with HIV.

no caption

Photo: RNZI / Johnny Blades

The UN said travel restrictions based on real or perceived HIV status are discriminatory, prevent people from accessing HIV services and propagate stigma and discrimination.

The offending nations named include Australia, the Cook Islands, the Marshall Islands, New Zealand, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga and Tuvalu.