13 Jun 2019

New Caledonia fails to elect president

4:29 pm on 13 June 2019

New Caledonia's new 11-member government, which was elected this morning, has failed to elect a president.

No caption

Photo: RNZ Pacific / Walter Zweifel

None of three candidates - Thierry Santa, Gilbert Tyuienon or Jean-Pierre Djaiwe - could secure the minimum six votes needed.

This means that the old government, which was led by Philippe Germain, will remain as a caretaker administration.

Earlier today, the Congress elected the 11 ministers from four party lists, reflecting their relative strength in Congress.

The anti-independence Future with Confidence coalition has five ministers, the two pro-independence lists have combined five ministers and the anti-independence Caledonia Together party has one seat.

The French High Commission is expected to call a fresh meeting of the 11 ministers within two weeks for another attempt to elect a president for the five-year term.

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs