3 Oct 2018

EU removes Palau from non-cooperative tax list

6:53 am on 3 October 2018

The European Union has removed Palau from its list of non-cooperative tax jurisdictions.

no caption

Photo: trueffelpix/123RF

The EU Council has found that Palau has made commitments at a high political level to remedy their concerns.

After an expert assessement of those commitments it was decided that Palau would be moved from the non-cooperative list to one which includes jurisdictions that have undertaken sufficient commitments to reform tax policy.

Six jurisdictions remain on the non-cooperative list including American Samoa and Guam.

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs