EU removes Marshalls from tax haven blacklist

8:11 am on 14 March 2018

European Union finance ministers have decided to remove the Marshall Islands from their blacklist of tax havens.

Majuro, Marshall Islands.

Majuro, Marshall Islands. Photo: Giff Johnson

The blacklist had been set up in December to discourage the use of shell structures abroad and now included nine jurisdictions.

In the Pacific, there are still four left.

They are American Samoa, Guam, Palau and Samoa.

The other five are in the Caribbean and include the Bahamas and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs