21 Jul 2016

Most of Nauru parliament given ministerial posts

5:27 pm on 21 July 2016

More than two thirds of the MPs in the newly elected Nauru parliament are to hold minister or assistant minister posts.

The Waqa/Adeang government has announced the appointment of seven assistant ministers after legislation was passed in parliament allowing the move.

They join the six person cabinet sworn in last week.

There are 19 MPs in the Nauru parliament and almost all are supporting the government.

The Chamber of Parliament, Nauru

The Chamber of Parliament, Nauru Photo: Supplied