16 Jul 2016

Nauru cabinet sworn in

3:04 pm on 16 July 2016

Nauru's new government was on Friday sworn in by the Chief Justice Jone Madraiwiwi.

The six person cabinet is headed by President Baron Waqa, who is also foreign minister.

David Adeang retains the justice and finance portfolios, while the one woman in cabinet, Charmaine Scotty, retains education.

The other ministers are Aaron Cook, Valdon Dowiyogo and Shadlog Bernicke.

Meanwhile, the Secretary General of the Pacific Islands Forum Secretariat has congratulated the government on its re-election.

Dame Meg Taylor said Mr Waqa's second presidency reflected the people's confidence in his abilities, and said the Forum was ready to continue working with Nauru.