5 Feb 2016

3 Kiribati MPs in election for presidency next month

5:38 pm on 5 February 2016

Three Kiribati parliamentarians will face off in the presidential election next month.

Two are members of the BTK party, Rimeta Beniamina and Tianeti Ioane, along with Taaneti Mamau, the nominee of a coalition in the new parliament.

Earlier this week a third member of the BTK, Taberannang Timeon, had said he was willing to stand, but did not get the backing needed.

The new president will replace Anote Tong who filled the role for the maximum 12 years.

Meanwhile Teatao Teannaki, a former president, was voted speaker of the new parliament.

No caption

The Kiribati parliament. Photo: RNZ

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs