27 Jan 2016

Third MP quits in Samoa

10:13 am on 27 January 2016

Samoa's parliament is resuming this week for its final session before it is dissolved on Friday, leaving the Prime Minister and his cabinet as caretaker government until after the general election on March 4.

Samoa parliament offices.

Samoa parliament offices. Photo: RNZ / Johnny Blades

On the first day of debate for the ruling HRPP government's last supplementary budget for 2015 to 2016, one government MP Alo Fulifuli Taveuveu has announced his resignation and will not contest in the upcoming general election.

The MP for Anoama'a i Sasa'e constituency says he will not seek re-election because of his poor health.

This comes after one of the Tautua Samoa opposition party MPs, Toeleutu Voi, from the Faasaleleaga number three constituency announced his resignation last month.

This brings the total to three MPs in the current 15th parliament who are not seeking re-election.

The Minister of Agriculture and MP for Lefaga and Faleaseela constituency, Le Mamea Ropati, was the first to announce his resignation in Parliament last year.