30 Jun 2015

Norfolk Island's advisory council set for first meeting

2:21 pm on 30 June 2015

Norfolk Island's temporary replacement for its abolished legislature, an Advisory Council, is due to sit for the first time on Wednesday.

The Australian Government removed the island's autonomy in legislation last month and has assumed responsibility for the funding and delivering national and state level services.

The legislature had a commemorative farewell meeting two weeks ago to mark its dis-establishment, but there is continuing disquiet on the island about the changes Canberra has forced through.

Its Advisory Council will last for a year until the Norfolk Island Regional Council is set up.

The chair is a former Norfolk MP, Melissa Ward, who will be joined by Duncan Evans, Eve Semple, Peter Wilson and Wally Beadman.

Australia's Ministry of Infrastructure and Regional Development says the Advisory Council will play a critical role in representing the local community and in shaping the future governance model for Norfolk Island.

The Australia Government has also appointed Peter Gesling as the executive director and Canberra says he will work with the island's administrator, Gary Hardgrave, to ensure essential services continue to be delivered.

Norfolk Island Flag

Norfolk Island Flag Photo: None

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs