4 Mar 2015

Two unopposed seats for Tuvalu election

8:37 pm on 4 March 2015

Two of the 15 seats in the next Tuvalu parliament have already been decided with the single candidates for the two seats on Nukufetau returned unopposed.

Tuvalu Prime Minister Enele Sopoaga

Enele Sopoaga will run unopposed. Photo: RNZI / Jamie Tahana

The country goes to the polls on the 19th March.

Nominations closed last week and the two Nukufetau MPs, the caretake prime minister, Enele Sopoaga and the caretaker natural resources minister, Elisala Pita, will not have to campaign.

The caretaker foreign minister, Taukelina Finikaso, is being challenged by former prime minister, Apisai Ielemia, and new candidates Melton Paka Tauetia, Foliaki Paolo and Muau Monise in the Vaitupu seat.

In the capital, Funafuti, the former speaker of parliament, Sir Kamuta Latasi and sitting MP, Kausea Natano will face two new candidates Kalepou Tili and Pugameau Naseli Kaituumana.

Two candidates are contesting the one seat for Nukulaelae Electoral District.

They are the caretaker minister of home affairs, Namoliki Nemia Sualiki and former police commissioner Motulu Jack Pedro.

The Nanumaga electoral district has nominated three candidates - the current speaker of Parliament, Otinielu Tauteleimale Tausi, the caretaker communications minister, Monise Laafai and a retired public servant Lutelu Faavae.

Niutao has a total of six candidates - the caretaker deputy prime minister, Vete Sakaio, caretaker Minister of Education, Fauoa Maani and former MPs Samuelu Penitala Teo, Tavau Teii, Sir Tomu Sione and Iopu I Kaisala