28 Apr 2011

Niue prepares for general election

1:45 pm on 28 April 2011

Niueans go to the polls on Saturday week but six of the 14 village seats have already been decided with just a single candidate contesting.

The six are all current MPs - Andrew Funaki in Tamakautoga, Billy Talagi in Avatele, Vaiea's Talaititama Talaiti, Liku's Pokotoa Sipeli, Jack Willie Lipitoa of Namukulu and Fisa Pihigia of Tuapa.

The chief electoral officer, Justin Kampala, says there are 17 candidates to contest the six common roll seats of the 20-member assembly.

This group includes the premier Toke Talagi, cabinet minister Togia Sioneholo, the former high commissioner to New Zealand, Grace Sisilia Talagi, and veteran opposition MP, Terry Coe.

A former premier Young Vivian faces two challenges in his seat of Hakupu.