3 Dec 2004

Cook Island MPs retain seats following appeals

2:07 pm on 3 December 2004

The independent Cook Islands MP Piho Rua has kept his Rakahanga seat, and MP Wilkie Rasmusen has retained his Penrhyn seat following the dismissal of appeals.

Both men were the subject of petitions filed after general elections on September the 7th.

The petition against Mr Rua was filed by Sir Pupuke Robati, and the one against Mr Rasmussen by Tepure Tapaitau.

The appeals followed the striking out of the petitions by the High Court in October.

The court fixed costs of one thousand dollars for Mr Rasmussen, to be met by Mr Tapaitau. Sir Pupuke must pay four thousand dollars in costs to Mr Rua.