27 Sep 2020

VIDEO: NZSO - Eroica

From Music Alive, 1:30 pm on 27 September 2020

Conductor Miguel Harth-Bedoya is a familiar face to New Zealand audiences, returning to conduct an offering of time-tested classics. Concertmaster Vesa-Matti Leppänen is soloist for Sibelius' only violin concerto.


A RITCHIE: Remember Parihaka Op 61;

Anthony Ritchie was inspired to write 'Remember Parihaka' as testament to the plight of Māori at Parihaka, forcibly removed from their Pā, unjustly arrested and imprisoned in 1881.

SIBELIUS: Violin Concerto in D minor Op 47;

After a disastrous premiere, Sibelius reworked his Violin Concerto substantially, removing some of its most difficult sections. Even in this more commonly played revised version, the Concerto remains one of the most difficult works written for violin – while still retaining the power to move, inspire and exhilarate.

BEETHOVEN: Symphony No 3 in Eb Op 55 Eroica

Beethoven’s Third Symphony also looms large as a great work. Its effect on 19th-century classical music was cataclysmic. After the Third, the symphony as a form was never the same again.

Performed by Vesa-Matti Leppänen (violin), New Zealand Symphony Orchestra conducted by Miguel Harth-Bedoya

Audio by RNZ Concert

Video by Latitude Creative