16 Aug 2008

Bids lodged for future Rugby World Cup events

9:52 am on 16 August 2008

The International Rugby Board has named the unions that have formally expressed an intention to host the Rugby World Cup in 2015 or 2019.

Australia, England, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Scotland, South Africa and Wales have confirmed their interest in the 2015 tournament.

Australia, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Russia, Scotland, South Africa and Wales are keen on hosting in 2019.

The 2011 Rugby World Cup will take place in New Zealand.

IRB chairman Bernard Lapasset said the number reflects the growing global prestige of the Rugby World Cup.

The IRB will announce the host unions of the 2015 and 2019 events in July 2009.