25 Jun 2014

Heritage council appointments made

6:28 pm on 25 June 2014

The Government has appointed eight members to the Maori Heritage Council, which is tasked with protecting areas of historical significance.

Ian Athfield

Ian Athfield Photo: The Arts Foundation

They include Richard Bradley, who was involved with the repatriation to Wairau Bar of about 60 Rangitane tupuna from Canterbury Museum in 2009.

Others include Maori Language Commission chair Erima Henare and Antoine Coffin, who has experience in Maori resource management.

The remaining members are Naida Glavish, architect Ian Athfield, John Clarke and Kim Ngarimu.

The council will also provide assistance to whanau, hapu and iwi in the preservation and management of their heritage resources.