5 Dec 2013

Appointments announced on commission and tribunal

6:43 am on 5 December 2013

The Maori Language Commission will retain two of its board members and welcome one new appointment.

Maori Affairs Minister Pita Sharples has confirmed that Erima Henare and Te Awanuiarangi Black have been reappointed.

He says both have provided solid leadership, and will ensure continuity as the board continues its important role of guiding the work of the commission.

Dr Sharples says the new board member, Pania Papa, has extensive experience in Maori language education, as well as Maori language broadcasting.

The minister has also announced that four members of the Waitangi Tribunal have been reappointed to their positions.

Dr Sharples says Professor Sir Tamati Reedy, Dr Robyn Anderson, Sir Douglas Kidd and Dr Ann Parsonson will serve on the tribunal again for a term of three years each.

Because of the calibre of skills and experience held by each of these candidates, he says the continuation of their member terms is vital in the on-going effectiveness of the Waitangi Tribunal.