25 Nov 2013

Maori Party selects six to contest Tai Hauauru

6:43 pm on 25 November 2013

Six Maori Party members have put their names forward to be selected to contest the Tai Hauauru seat in next year's general election.

The Maori Party co-leader, Tariana Turia, is retiring next year after holding the Maori electorate since 2002.

The Maori Party members hoping to represent Hauauru are; Frana Chase, Rahui Katene, James Makowharemahihi, Christopher McKenzie, Amokura Panoho and Pakake Winiata.

The party's vice president, Ken Mair, says the line up of nominees is extremely talented.

Ken Mair says the party isn't looking for someone to fill Tariana Turia shoes, but to carve a new pathway.

A selection panel will make a decision, and the candidate chosen will be announced on 8 December.

The panel will take into account the views of party members including kaumatua and rangatahi or young people.