20 Dec 2011

Eight athletes get NZOC earthquake hardship grants

2:46 pm on 20 December 2011

Eight athletes will receive funding from the Christchurch Athlete Hardship Grant, a fund set up by the New Zealand Olympic Committee in the wake of the Canterbury earthquakes.

One hundred and fifty thousand dollars will also be allocated towards the construction of a temporary high performance centre in the region, with the QEII sports centre unable to be used because of earthquake damage.

The grant recipients are triathletes Andrea Hewitt and James Elvery, cyclist Joanne Kiesanowski, swimmer Sophia Bathchelor, heptathlete Rebecca Wardell, kayakers Fred Teear and Liam O'Loughlin, and judo's Jason Koster.

They each receive grants of between $1400 and $6520.