19 Jul 2011

No English players in ICC dream Test team

6:17 pm on 19 July 2011

In the week when England host India at Lord's in the 2000th Test match, there's no room for any English players in an ICC poll to decide cricket fans' greatest Test team.

The ICC received about 250,000 on-line votes with Australia and India each getting four players.

Don Bradman, whose Test batting average of 99.94 for Australia remains far beyond anyone else ever to have played the game, is the only player from the 1930s and 1940s.

Englishmen such as Len Hutton, Jim Laker, Fred Trueman and Ian Botham miss out and so do the great West Indians Garfield Sobers, Viv Richards and Malcolm Marshall.

The modern era Australians are Adam Gilchrist, Glenn McGrath and Shane Warne.

The Indians are Sachin Tendulkar, Sunil Gavaskar, Virender Sehwag and Kapil Dev.

There are two West Indians, Curtly Ambrose and Brian Lara, and one Pakistani, Wasim Akram.