7 Apr 2011

Six more coaches selected for accelerator programme

11:14 pm on 7 April 2011

Coaches from six sports have been selected for the third intake of a programme aimed at producing more men and women capable of developing World, Olympic or Paralympic champions.

Coach Accelerator is a three-year programme which began in 2009 and is funded by SPARC, and involving the New Zealand Academy of Sport and national sports organisations.

The coaches selected this year are Todd Blackadder of the Crusaders super rugby side, rowing's Gary Hay, Janine Southby. who coaches the New Zealand Under 21 netballers, equestrian-eventings's Erik Duvander, hockey's Darren Smith, and flatwater canoeing's Gordon Walker.

The 12 coaches already in the programme are the All Blacks assistant coach Steve Hansen; cricket's Mike Hesson, Grant Bradburn and Gary Stead; netball's Yvette McCausland-Durie; snowboarding'sTom Willmott; rowing's Dave Thompson and Mark Stallard; cycling's Dayle Cheatley and Justin Grace, triathlon's Tim Brazier; and swimming's Scott Talbot.