24 Mar 2011

Pursuit team to ride for bronze

6:16 am on 24 March 2011

The New Zealand men's pursuit team will ride for bronze later this morning at the World Track Cycling Championships in the Netherlands.

Sam Bewley, Peter Latham, Marc Ryan and Jesse Sergent recorded the 4th fastest time and will meet Olympic champions Great Britain in the bronze medal ride.

Defending champions Australia will meet Russia for gold.

The New Zealand sprint team of Sam Webster, Eddie Dawkins and Ethan Mitchell could only manage the 6th fastest time and failed to qualify for the medal rides.