1 Feb 2011

Chris Ashton wins try of the year award

11:55 am on 1 February 2011

A thrilling individual try scored by England's Chris Ashton at Twickenham against Australia in November has been named the International Rugby Players' Association Try of the Year 2010.

The England international's try won the public vote having fought off stiff competition from some outstanding five-pointers finished by Mils Muliaina, Felipe Contepomi, Shane Williams and Women's Rugby World Cup 2010 star Danielle Waterman.

Acton's memorable try, his second in the match, combined pace, power and panache as the wing raced clear to finish off a superb counter-attack that started near his own try-line.

The try received the most votes following an online poll at www.irb.com which saw the global Rugby family select his touchdown from a shortlist of 18 from the Six Nations, Tri Nations, Women's Rugby World Cup, Pacific Nations Cup and IRB Nations Cup as well as the June and November internationals.