22 Dec 2010

Reece Young into Black Caps test squad

3:44 pm on 22 December 2010

The Canterbury wicket-keeper Reece Young is the newcomer to New Zealand Cricket's 13-man test squad for the two match series against Pakistan while the Wellington allrounder James Franklin earns a recall on the strength of his one day form in India.

Dan Vettori, who's been rested from the Twenty20 side, will return to captain the side which also includes: Brent Arnel. Martin Guptill, Chris Martin, Brendon McCullum, Andy McKay, Tim McIntosh, Ross Taylor, Jesse Ryder, Tim Southee and Kane Williamson.

Chairman of selectors Mark Greatbatch says they've kept faith with the majority of players who performed well in the Test matches in India, other than spin bowlerJeetan Patel, batsman BJ Watling and wicket-keeper Gareth Hopkins.

There are three new caps in the Ross Taylor-led Twenty20 team: batsman Dean Brownlie, pace bowler Adam Milne and allrounder Luke Woodcock.

Greatbatch says Peter McGlashan is likely to take the wicketkeeper's gloves in the first Twenty match on Boxing Day with Brendon McCullum's back still not 100 percent

McCullum will undergo fitness testing later this week while Vettori is expected to be fully fit for the Test series starting on January 7.