1 Dec 2010

Rugby League world cup draw announced

5:44 pm on 1 December 2010

The reigning rugby league world champions New Zealand will play Papua New Guinea, Samoa and France in pool play when they defend their title at the next tournament in England in 2013.

The draw for the tournament was made in Manchester today with Australia in pool A having to play hosts England in the group stages, along with Ireland and Fiji.

Group C features Scotland and Tonga along with a yet to be decided European qualifier.

Group D inlcudes co-hosts Wales, the Cook Islands and an Atlantic qualifier - either Jamaica, South Africa or the United States.

The top three teams from groups A and B qualify for the quarter-finals, while only the top team from groups C and D go through to the last eight.

No dates for matches have yet been scheduled.