8 Oct 2010

Australian stripped of sprint gold

11:57 am on 8 October 2010

The Nigerian sprinter Osayemi Oludamola has been declared the winner of the Commonwealth Games women's 100 metres after Australia lost an appeal to have Sally Pearson's disqualification overturned.

Pearson crossed the line in 11.28 seconds, ahead of the Nigerian, but was disqualified for a false start three hours after the race following an appeal by Team England.

England appealed the result after their athlete Laura Turner was disqualified for the same offence.... despite the decision Turner was allowed to race under protest but her result did not stand.

Pearson's disqualification meant Turner's team mate Katherine Endacott was promoted from fourth to the bronze medal position with Natasha Mayers awarded the silver and giving Saint Vincent and the Grenadines their first athletics medal.