18 May 2024

A-League Men semi final as it happened: Wellington Phoenix v Melbourne Victory

9:43 pm on 18 May 2024
Bozhidar Kraev, Finn Surman, Scott Wootton and Alex Rufer of the block a free kick. Phoenix Melbourne Victory FC v Wellington Phoenix FC, Isuzu Ute Men’s A-League semi final 1 at AAMI Park, Melbourne, Australia on Sunday 12 May 2024.

Bozhidar Kraev, Finn Surman, Scott Wootton and Alex Rufer of the block a free kick. Photo: Photosport / Scott Barbour

The Wellington Phoenix's A-League season has come to an end with a extra time 2-1 loss to Melbourne Victory in their semi-final second leg game in Wellington.

The Victory went ahead against the run of play in the 61st minute, and were set for the win until Phoenix substitute Oskar Zawada grabbed the equaliser with the last kick of regulation time.

The visitors then went ahead again in the first-half of extra time, and while the Phoenix continued to press and have shots on goal, they couldn't find a second goal.

Look back at all the action with RNZ's live blog here:

Squad lists

Wellington Phoenix

Goalkeepers: Alex Paulsen, Jack Duncan; Defenders: Finn Surman, Scott Wootton, Tim Payne, Lukas Kelly-Heald, Sam Sutton, Isaac Hughes. Midfielders: Alex Rufer, Bozhidar Kraev, Ben Old, Mohamed Al-Taay, Nicholas Pennington, Youstin Salas, Fin Conchie, Matt Sheridan; Attackers: Kosta Barbarouses, Oskar Zawada, David Ball, Oskar van Hattum.

Melbourne Victory

Goalkeepers: Paul Izzo, Christian Siciliano; Defenders: Jason Geria, Adama Traore, Damien Da Silva, Roderick Miranda, Connor Chapman, Kasey Bos, Stefan Nigro. Midfielders: Jordi Valadon, Leigh Broxham, Jake Brimmer, Salim Khelifi, Ryan Teague, Roly Bonevacia, Fabian Monge. Attackers: Chris Ikonomidis, Bruno Fornaroli, Ben Folami, Nishan Velupillay, Daniel Arzani.

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs

We have regular online commentary of local and international sport.