5 May 2023

Curry and Mikkelson back for All Blacks Sevens

7:30 am on 5 May 2023
Tim Mikkelson New Zealand rugby sevens in Tokyo.

Tim Mikkelson. Photo: PHOTOSPORT

The All Blacks Sevens welcome back veterans Scott Curry and Tim Mikkelson from injury for the Toulouse round of the World Series.

Captain Sam Dickson and the Roderick Solo also re-join the team as does Che Clark, who has been named in the side for the first time since the Sydney Sevens.

Coach Clark Laidlaw said the team had been training exceptionally well, which challenged the coaching group with selection.

"We are fortunate we have a talented bunch of lads to choose from. Each member of our squad has been a part of this team's success to date.

"With the return of our experienced players such as Scott and Tim from injury, the challenge was for our coaching group to select the best team that we could, they have all been training hard and extremely well, so that the team is in the best possible place to finish the season with the energy and intensity that will see us finish the way we want to."

Mikkelson is set to play in his 100th international tournament for the All Blacks Sevens when he takes the field in Toulouse.

"Tim is an incredible player, a true inspiration for us all, with a great love for his team and the jersey. His dedication and resilience he has shown over his whole career but in particular this last year, shows how outstanding he is. We are looking forward to seeing him take the field and achieve this significant milestone," said Laidlaw.

Dickson returns to captain the side with stand-in captains Dylan Collier and Sione Molia named as vice-captains.

"We are pleased to welcome back Sam to captain the team. Dylan and Sione have done a great job in Sam's absence as a result they assume vice captaincy alongside him."

All Blacks Sevens:

1. Scott Curry

2. Brady Rush

4. Akuila Rokolisoa

5. Dylan Collier (Vice-Captain)

7. Sam Dickson (Captain)

12. Leroy Carter

13. Moses Leo

21. Che Clark

24. Tepaea Cook-Savage

27. Sione Molia (Vice-Captain)

30. Tim Mikkelson

44. Roderick Solo

64. Regan Ware

Unavailable for selection: Amanaki Nicole, Andrew Knewstubb and Ngarohi McGarvey Black and Tone Ng Shiu (injury). Lewis Ormond and Joe Webber (personal).