5 Dec 2022

Mahe Drysdale honoured with World Rowing's top prize

9:41 am on 5 December 2022

New Zealand Olympian Mahe Drysdale has won World Rowing's most prestigious award, the Thomas Keller Medal.

Mahé Drysdale showing off his medal after winning gold at the London Olympics in 2012.

Mahe Drysdale with his London Olympic gold. Photo: Photosport

Drysale is a three-time Olympic medallist, winning gold in the men's single sculls at the 2012 London and 2016 Rio Games, and a bronze in 2008 in Beijing.

He is also a five-time World Champion.

The Thomas Keller Medal is given by the World Rowing Federation for an outstanding international career in the sport.

It is the highest honour in rowing and is awarded to any athlete within five years of their retirement from the sport.

It recognises an exceptional rowing career as well as exemplary sportsmanship.

Drysdale competed earlier this year in the "Grand Finale" race at the 2022 World Rowing Championships to honour his friend and long-time competitor Ondrej Synek of the Czech Republic.

In other awards, Romania's winning streak in the women's double sculls secured them the award for the Women's Crew of the Year, while their performance at the 2022 World Rowing Championships gave France the Men's Crew of the Year award.

Ukraine's success in the Para Rowing boat classes also saw Vyacheslav Zagreba taking the title of top coach for 2022.

Great Britain won the Para Crew of the Year award.