17 May 2022

All Whites squad named for 'massive moment'

9:54 am on 17 May 2022

The All Whites won't have attacking midfielder Sarpreet Singh for the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022 Intercontinental Play-Off against Costa Rica next month due to injury, but do welcome back forward Marco Rojas after three years out of the squad.

Bayern Munich Sarpreet Singh.

Sarpreet Singh won't play for the All Whites next month as he battles injury. Photo: PHOTOSPORT

New Zealand Football have confirmed the 26-person squad for the play-off in Doha, Qatar on 15 June (NZT).

Melbourne Victory forward Rojas is back for the first time since 2019 on the back of his form in the A-League.

Michael Boxall, who is based in America, also returns after missing the last tour with injury.

The remainder of the squad were all part of side that won the Oceania Qualifiers tournament in March and 13 were part of the Olympic team that finished sixth in Tokyo.

Coach Danny Hay said this was a group "that understands how we want to play and what is expected of them".

"While it is unfortunate that Sarpreet Singh and Ryan Thomas are missing with injury, it is great we are able to bring Marco Rojas and Michael Boxall back after they weren't available in March.

"We know this is a massive moment for football in New Zealand and I believe these are the players that give us the best possible chance of qualifying for the FIFA World Cup later this year."

The All Whites will play against Peru in Spain on 6 June, and a yet to be announced international opponent in Doha four days later as preparation for the intercontinental play-off on 15 June.

All Whites squad for intercontinental play-off

Kosta Barbarouses (49 caps) Sydney FC, Australia

Joe Bell (8 caps) Brøndby IF, Denmark

Michael Boxall (36 caps) Minnesota United, USA

Liberato Cacace (8 caps) FC Empoli, Italy

Joe Champness (5 caps) Unattached

Francis de Vries (5 caps) IFK Värnamo, Sweden

Matthew Garbett (8 caps) Torino, Italy

Matthew Gould (0 caps) Altrincham FC, England

Alex Greive (4 caps) St Mirren, Scotland

Dane Ingham (10 caps) Newcastle Jets, Australia

Elijah Just (9 caps) FC Helsingør, Denmark

Niko Kirwan (6 caps) Calcio Padova, Italy

Clayton Lewis (18 caps) Wellington Phoenix, New Zealand

Stefan Marinovic (29 caps) Hapoel Nof HaGalil, Israel

Callum McCowatt (8 caps) FC Helsingør, Denmark

Tim Payne (25 caps) Wellington Phoenix, New Zealand

Nando Pijnaker (7 caps) Sligo Rovers, Ireland

Logan Rogerson (8 caps) FC Haka, Finland

Marco Rojas (42 caps) Melbourne Victory, Australia

Winston Reid (30 caps) Unattached

Oli Sail (2 caps) Wellington Phoenix, New Zealand

Tommy Smith (47 caps) Colchester United, England

Marko Stamenic (6 caps) HB Køge, Denmark

Bill Tuiloma (31 caps) Portland Timbers, USA

Ben Waine (2 caps) Wellington Phoenix, New Zealand

Chris Wood (65 caps) Newcastle United, England