5 Aug 2021

Three changes to All Blacks lineup to take on Wallabies

1:26 pm on 5 August 2021

There are three changes from the All Blacks starting lineup that played Fiji last month for Saturday's Bledisloe Cup Test against Australia at Eden Park.

All Black Brodie Retallick.

Brodie Retallick Photo: PHOTOSPORT

Lock Brodie Retallick, loose forward Dalton Papalii and winger Rieko Ioane all come into the starting lineup.

Sevu Reece switches from the left to the right wing and Ardie Savea moves from openside to number eight.

The starting front row is unchanged with loosehead prop George Bower, hooker Codie Taylor and tighthead Nepo Laulala running out, supported by props Karl Tu'inukuafe and Angus Ta'avao, and hooker Dane Coles.

83-Test lock Retallick starts in the second row alongside captain Samuel Whitelock, with Scott Barrett on the bench.

In the loose forwards, Ardie Savea is at eight, with Dalton Papalii at seven and Akira Ioane in the six jersey. Luke Jacobson is loose forward cover.

In the backs, Richie Mo'unga is again at ten, outside Aaron Smith, who will play his 100th Test.

Second five-eighth David Havili and centre Anton Lienert-Brown are the midfield combination.

Props Joe Moody and Ofa Tuungafasi weren't considered for selection as they return from injuries, while the selectors have also taken a considered approach with outside back Will Jordan's return from a slight hamstring strain.

Anton Lienert-Brown and David Havili.
All Blacks v Fiji, 2021.

Anton Lienert-Brown and David Havili Photo: PHOTOSPORT

All Blacks Head Coach Ian Foster said: "There is huge excitement in our group at what lies ahead this weekend. There is such a huge history with the Bledisloe Cup, the rivalry between the All Blacks and Australia goes back a long, long way, and it's always a massive contest. The Cup isn't ours; we have to go out and win it again. We can't wait for the weekend."

On Aaron Smith's special milestone, Foster said: "He's a special man, he's achieved so much in the black jersey and has been an iconic player for us over the last decade. We know it'll be a special night for him, his wife Teagan and his family."

All Blacks team to play Australia at Eden Park. (caps)

1. George Bower (3)

2. Codie Taylor (58)

3. Nepo Laulala (31)

4. Brodie Retallick (83)

5. Samuel Whitelock (125) - captain

6. Akira Ioane (4)

7. Dalton Papalii (5)

8. Ardie Savea (50)

9. Aaron Smith (99)

10. Richie Mo'unga (24)

11. Rieko Ioane (37)

12. David Havili (5)

13. Anton Lienert-Brown (50)

14. Sevu Reece (10)

15. Damian McKenzie (30)

16. Dane Coles (76)

17. Karl Tu'inukuafe (18)

18. Angus Ta'avao (16)

19. Scott Barrett (42)

20. Luke Jacobson (5)

21. Brad Weber (9)

22. Beauden Barrett (91)

23. Jordie Barrett (25)