13 Apr 2021

Kane Williamson wins New Zealand cricket's supreme award

8:35 pm on 13 April 2021

Black Caps captain Kane Williamson has won New Zealand cricket's top award for the fourth time in six years.

Kane Williamson playing at Headingley in 2015.

New Zealand Cricket captain Kane Willamson. Photo: PHOTOSPORT

Williamson has been awarded the Sir Richard Hadlee Medal at the annual New Zealand Cricket Awards while Amelia Kerr and Devon Conway have claimed double honours.

Williamson's impressive home Test summer helped him claim the supreme award, along with the Test player of the year and the Redpath Cup for first-class batting.

The world's top-ranked Test batsman made his highest international score of 251 against the West Indies in Hamilton, followed up by a century on his home ground at Bay Oval in Tauranga, before adding another double-century against Pakistan in Christchurch to help the Black Caps book their place in the ICC Test Championship Final at Lord's in June.

Leadership was cited as a principal factor in Williamson getting the supreme awards over strong cases from Tim Southee and Kyle Jamieson, who also played key roles in the teaming winning 17 out of 20 games and all seven series they contested this summer.

Amelia Kerr's all-round skills and fielding prowess saw her win the women's domestic T20 award along with the International T20 women's awards.

The leg-spinning all-rounder played a key role in the White Ferns upset wins over Australia in Brisbane before Christmas and in Napier last month.

She averaged 51 with the bat at a strike rate of 134 in the Super Smash and took 14 wickets, including a hat-trick, for the Wellington Blaze in the Grand Final.

Amelia Kerr bowling.

Amelia Kerr. Photo: PHOTOSPORT

Fellow rising Wellington star Devon Conway won the men's one day and T20 International Player of the Year awards.

Stand-in White Ferns captain Amy Satterthwaite was named the women's ODI player of the year.

Kyle Jamieson's outstanding test bowling efforts were recognised with the Winsor Cup for first-class bowling.

Jamieson took 27 wickets at an average of just 12 including his Player of the Match 11-wicket haul in the test win over Pakistan in Christchurch.

Jamieson also claimed 20 wickets in just three Plunket Shield games for Auckland Aces, including a hat-trick.

Kyle Jamieson of the Black Caps appeals for a wicket.

Kyle Jamieson. Photo: PHOTOSPORT

It was a Canterbury double in the domestic player of the year category with all-rounders Frankie Mackay and Daryl Mitchell claiming the respective awards while new Black Cap Finn Allen was named domestic men's T20 player of the year.

The Canterbury Magicians victorious Dream11 Super Smash and Hallyburton Johnstone (HBJ) Shield campaigns were reflected in both domestic batting and bowling awards.

Canterbury Kate Ebrahim was awarded the Ruth Martin Cup for batting, after playing a key hand in the T20 grand final win and being the leading runscorer in the Hallyburton Johnstone Shield.

Leg-spinner Sarah Asmussen topped the HBJ wicket tally following an impressive Dream11 Super Smash campaign, seeing her winning the Phyl Blackler Cup for women's domestic bowling.

Former Black Caps captain Jeff Crowe won the Bert Sutcliffe Medal for outstanding services to cricket.

Crowe represented his country in 39 Tests and 75 ODIs between 1983 and 1990, captained the side on 22 occasions and was later appointed manager of the New Zealand team.

Since 2004, he has been an ICC match referee, overseeing 103 Tests, 301 ODIs and 137 T20s.

Chris Brown was named umpire of the year.

Award winners

  • Sir Richard Hadlee Medal: Kane Williamson (Northern Districts)
  • Bert Sutcliffe Medal for Outstanding Services to Cricket: Jeff Crowe
  • Test Player of the Year: Kane Williamson (Northern Districts)
  • Women's ODI Player of the Year: Amy Satterthwaite (Canterbury)
  • Men's ODI Player of the Year: Devon Conway (Wellington)
  • International Women's T20 Player of the Year: Amelia Kerr (Wellington)
  • International Men's T20 Player of the Year: Devon Conway (Wellington)
  • Women's Domestic Player of the Year: Frankie Mackay (Canterbury)
  • Men's Domestic Player of the Year: Daryl Mitchell (Canterbury)
  • Women's T20's Player of the Year: Amelia Kerr (Wellington)
  • Men's T20 Player of the Year: Finn Allen (Wellington)
  • The Redpath Cup for first-class batting: Kane Williamson (Northern Districts)
  • The Ruth Martin Cup for women's domestic batting: Kate Ebrahim (Canterbury)
  • The Winsor Cup for first-class bowling: Kyle Jamieson (Auckland)
  • The Phyl Blackler Cup for women's domestic bowling: Sarah Asmussen (Canterbury)
  • New Zealand Umpire of the Year: Chris Brown