23 Nov 2020

Another award for Team NZ helmsman

9:12 am on 23 November 2020

Peter Burling has been recognised for his contribution to the world of sailing.

Peter Burling competing in the 2017-18 Volvo Ocean Race.

Peter Burling competing in the 2017-18 Volvo Ocean Race. Photo: Sam Greenfield/Volvo AB

The Team New Zealand helmsman has been announced as the 2020 winner of the Magnus Olsson Price.

Awarded annually to an individual who has made an indelible contribution to the world of sailing, previous recipients include Torben Grael, Sir Ben Ainslie, Stan Honey, Santiago Lange, Grant Dalton and Carolijn Brouwer.

Burling is by far the youngest winner of the prize.

Despite his young age (29) Burling has an impressive CV with Olympic gold and silver medals and nine world championship titles to his name.

"It's a great honor to be acknowledged by the Mange Olsson Memorial Foundation for this award. Unfortunately, I never had the opportunity to meet Magnus but his epic race with Ericsson 3 in the 2008-09 edition of The Ocean Race definitely inspired my round the world path," Burling said.

As a leader, Burling continues to demonstrate his ability to skipper and manage successful world class teams in the sport of sailing.

He was the 35th America's Cup champion helmsman with Team New Zealand in 2017 and watch captain and helmsman with Team Brunel in the 2017-18 edition of the Ocean Race, finishing third overall.

He was named Male World Sailor of the Year at the Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards in 2017. Burling and his 49er partner Blair Tuke also won the award in 2015 and were finalists in both 2014 and again in 2016.

Burling will receive the Magnus Olsson Prize 2020 via a virtual prize giving event this Thursday.

Magnus Olsson took part in six round the world races between 1985 and 2009 and won the 97-98 race with EF Language.