5 Nov 2020

Halbergs on hold for 2020

7:36 am on 5 November 2020

The annual Halberg Sports awards are being deferred to 2021 due to Covid-19.

With international sporting events being severely affected in 2020, the Halberg Foundation has decided it will include performances of merit this year into next year's sporting year.

There will still however be an awards ceremony with the Halberg Foundation set to honour sporting champions of the past decade from 2010-2019.

Previous Halberg Awards winners across eight categories will vie for the Decade Champion honours with the winners announced in February.

The supreme Halberg Award winner of the decade will join the previous Decade Champions including; 1950s Dame Yvette Corlett (nee Williams) (athletics), 1960s Sir Peter Snell (athletics), 1970s Sir John Walker (athletics), 1980s Sir Richard Hadlee (cricket), 1990s Danyon Loader (swimming) and 2000s Carolyn Meyer and Georgina Earl (nee Evers-Swindell) (rowing).

Shot put champion Tom Walsh - 2019 Halberg Supreme Award winner.

There will be no Supreme Award winner for 2020 - shot put champion Tom Walsh won the 2019 title. Photo: Photosport

In addition to the supreme Halberg Award champion, category winners of the decade will also be recognised in the Team, Para Athlete, Sportswoman, Sportsman, Coach and Emerging Talent Athlete awards.

There will also be a public vote New Zealand's Favourite Sporting Moment of the Decade.

Finalists for Halberg Awards Decade Champion:

Halberg Award Decade Champion (supreme): 2010 All Whites (football), 2011 All Blacks (rugby), 2012 Men's Pair, Hamish Bond and Eric Murray (rowing), 2013 Lydia Ko (golf), 2014 Men's Pair, Hamish Bond and Eric Murray (rowing), 2015 All Blacks (rugby), 2016 Lisa Carrington (canoe racing), 2017 Emirates Team New Zealand (yachting), 2018 Tom Walsh (athletics), 2019 Silver Ferns (netball).