12 Sep 2019

Fifty players from 29 schools named NZ Schools' rugby teams

2:14 pm on 12 September 2019

Fifty players from 29 schools across the country have been named in the New Zealand Schools' and New Zealand Schools' Barbarians teams.

The New Zealand Schools squad features seven players that were involved in the schools programme last year, including two who have graduated from the Barbarians team.

Players represent a total of 12 provincial unions with the biggest representation from Auckland and Canterbury.

Newly-crowned National Co-Ed champions St Kentigern College has seven players selected across the two national schools teams, with Christchurch Boys' High School and King's College also strongly represented.

Both teams will play a game of three halves in Palmerston North on September 26th before traveling to Hamilton for matches against Fiji Schools and Australia Under 18s.

Players from 29 schools make up the 
New Zealand Schools’ and New Zealand Schools’ Barbarians teams

Players from 29 schools make up the New Zealand Schools’ and New Zealand Schools’ Barbarians teams Photo: NZ Rugby

The New Zealand Schools' team is:

Cam Church (Saint Kentigern College), Allan Craig (Saint Kentigern College), Vaiolini Ekuasi (St Peter's Cambridge), Zach Gallagher (Christ's College), Dom Gardiner (St Bede's College), Vincent Green (Hamilton Boys' High School), Meihana Grindlay (King's College), Wil Gualter (Lincoln High School),

Finau Halafihi (Auckland Grammar School), Max Hughes ( Christchurch Boys' High School), Corey Kellow (Sacred Heart College), Jacob Kneepkens (Francis Douglas Memorial College), Ollie Lewis (Christchurch Boys' High School), Ben Lopas (Christchurch Boys' High School), Ruben Love (Palmerston Boys' High School), Aidan Morgan ( King's College), Blair Murray (New Plymouth Boys' High School), Manu Paea (Rotorua Boys' High School), Te Rama Reuben (Saint Kentigern College), Anton Segner (Nelson College), Jack Sexton (St Andrew's College), Roderick Solo (Scots College), Ben Strang (Whanganui Collegiate), Tiaan Tauakipulu (Saint Kentigern College), Gideon Wrampling (St Paul's Collegiate).

The New Zealand Schools' Barbarians team is:

Lattrell Ah Kiong (Hastings Boys' High School), Eto Bainivalu (St Bede's College), George Bell (John McGlashan College), James Brown (King's College),

Taya Brown (Nelson College), Seb Calder (St Andrew's College), Tepaea Cook-Savage (St Paul's Collegiate), Matt Dobbyn (Hamilton Boys' High School),

Leeroy Ferguson (John McGlashan College), Joseph Gavigan (Manukura), Julian Goerke (Hasting Boys' High School), Jamie Hannah (Christchurch Boys' High School), TK Howden (Feilding High School), Dayton Iobu (King's College), Treyah Kingi (Saint Kentigern College), Brian Leali'ifano (Sacred Heart), Giovanni Leituala (King's High School), Michael Manson (Otago Boys' High School), Jona Mataiciwa (Saint Kentigern College), Sosaia Moala (Auckland Grammar), Monu Moli (Marlborough Boys' High School), Alfred Nonu (Tangaroa College), Javarne Porter (Whangarei Boys' High School),

Hakaraia Richards-Coxhead (Hamilton Boys' High School), Leandro Vakatini (King's College).