30 Jan 2019

New pair in Black Caps

4:21 pm on 30 January 2019

The uncapped pair of Northern Districts batting all-rounder Daryl Mitchell and Central Districts seam bowler Blair Tickner have been named New Zealand men's cricket squad for their upcoming T20 series against India.

Northern Districts all-rounder Daryl Mitchell.

Northern Districts all-rounder Daryl Mitchell. Photo: Photosport

Mitchell's inclusion comes after strong form in the national domestic T20 competition, while Tickner is only in the squad for the third and final match of the series, replacing Lockie Ferguson.

New Zealand selector Gavin Larsen said Mitchell had won over the selectors on the back of impressive performances for the Knights, including an innings of 61 off just 23 balls against Tickner and the Stags.

"Both Daryl and Blair have been rewarded for the strong form they've produced in domestic cricket.

"They've been there or thereabouts for most of the season and both featured in our NZ A short-format teams.

"Daryl has shown his value with the bat and also tends to bowl at some tough times for the Knights, and Blair is well-respected among his team-mates and opponents alike as someone who bowls a heavy ball at good pace."

Other changes to the squad include the return of captain Kane Williamson to the Black Caps T20 side, replacing Henry Nicholls, with new ball bowler Trent Boult rested for all three matches.

The series starts in Wellington on Wednesday next week and all three games will be double-headers alongside the New Zealand and Indian women's teams.

New Zealand T20 squad vs India: Kane Williamson (c), Doug Bracewell, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson (games 1 & 2), Martin Guptill, Scott Kuggeleijn, Daryl Mitchell, Colin Munro, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert (wk), Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Blair Tickner (game 3).